Indian Association of Pathologists and Microbiologists (IAPM) is a non-commercial, professional organization founded in 1949 with the objective of promotion and advancements of pathology, microbiology and allied sciences. It is affiliated to the International Academy of Pathology (IAP) as its Indian Division. It acts as an expert technical body to express its views on all matters on education, training, professional practice and quality control and passes them on to the competent authorities for implementation. It provides a forum for presentation and publication of research activities in the fields by the way of conferences and its journals. The research activities are encouraged through scholarships, prizes and awards. The IAPM promotes dissipation of knowledge and exchange of new ideas and technologies by inducing the experts to arrange CME programs and workshops.

With membership strength of more than 3000, the IAPM governs itself democratically through a governing council of elected office bearers whose policies, decisions and actions need to be rectified by a general body of all the members which meet annually. All the decisions and activities of IAPM are conveyed to all the members by a quarterly news-letter. The National Head Quarter of the association is located at Cuttack (Orissa) in India. Besides, the IAPM has established regional chapters to organize and execute multiple regional activities fulfilling objectives of the organization. A chairperson, elected by the association members belonging to the regional chapters, become ex-officio member of Governing council and represents the said members and the activities of the region in the council and acts as a liaison between two. Official scientific publication of the IAAPM is the quarterly, Indian Journal of pathology and Microbiology.

Office bearers


Dr. Pradeep Vaideshwar,
Professor (Additional),
Dept. of Pathology (Cardiovascular & Thoracic Division),
Seth G S Medical College, Mumbai, India.


Dr.Vatsala Mishra,
Prof. and Head, Dept. of Pathology,
MLN Medical College, Allahabad, India

Honorary Secretary

Dr.Sharada Rane
Senior Associate Professor,
Dept. of Pathology,
BJ Medical College, Pune, India

Joint Secretary:

Dr. Asranti Kar
Associate Professor,
Dept. of Pathology,
SCB Medical College, Cuttack, India


Dr.Dilip Ramrakhiani
Dept. of Pathology,
SMS Medical College, Jaipur, India

Joint Secretary (Head Quarters)

Dr.Kanakalata Dei
Retd. Professor of Pathology,
Cuttack, Orissa, India


Dr. Ranjan Agarwal
Professor of Pathology,
Rohilkhand Medical College & Hospital,
Bareilly, India